A Wood For The Trees Question

After using Omnifocus for 18 months, without being tempted to go elsewhere (I have previously been quite fickle), I am really enjoying my experience.

However, right now I have a huge volume of projects, all sorted into folders which correspond to my areas of responsibility.

As a consultant, I often have to drop what I was planning to do, in favour of another pressing requirement from a client.

At the moment, my key projects (key because they contribute to my professional development, marketing of my business and so on) seem to take second place to the very important stuff my clients want at short notice.

My answer is, I think, to split down my really still important stuff into bite-sized chunks which I can drop onto as I have free half hours.

However, I would like to devise a way in which I can separate all these golden projects within Omnifocus, so I can quickly isolate them and choose which I want to work with.

There are several ways which Omnifocus can do this. I am curious as to what works for others in the community?

I’ve had the same issues. Can’t see the forest when I’m in the trees.

What I’ve done was to put almost every special project to “On Hold” status.

In the weekly review, I will set only a handful of projects to “Active” status. Usually, I will have three to five projects set to active in each of my folders. Currently, I have two active projects in my Home folder, three active projects in my Work folder, and one active project in my Personal Development folder.

My Single Actions Lists will always be active. They tend to be repeated maintenance tasks that are needed to maintain my life. Things like pick up clothes from dry cleaners weekly, buy laundry detergent monthly, Prepare weekly office status reports, etc. needs to be completed to keep life rolling smoothly.