Best way to prioritize tasks/projects - defer dates or date & time?

I am new to Omnifocus and trying to figure out the best way to prioritize my daily tasks. To see them, in importance of order to be completed
Please let me know your thoughts
Sincerely,
James

James,

In my view, the best thing about Omnifocus is that there are nearly infinite answers to that question. But to give you a very terse and perhaps unhelpful answer:

Maybe first decide whether you are going to work through the day using a Contexts perspective or a Project perspective. If you are someone who likes to work in a block doing one set of activities (like e-mails) for multiple projects, then Contexts perspective is probably best. That way you can see your @email context for all of your projects, and bang them out at once.

If you are someone who likes to do various sets of activities (e-mails, newsletters, blog, whatever) for one project at a time, then a Project perspective might be best. That way you can see the project you are working on, and the different contexts for it, e.g., @email, @writing, etc.

But it’s always a work in progress, at least for me. It’s a neat way to find out how you work best. Through experimentation, you will find things that work for you, and things that don’t work for you.

Good luck!

2 Likes

In my workflow, I would start looking at the due perspective. These are tasks that I should work on. In the settings window, I set due soon to 1 week. This gives me 7 days notice of tasks that are due in the next 7 days. I usually try to get ahead of myself. This avoids stress when I am approaching the deadline and find myself behind on my workload.

After i work in the due perspective, I like to work in the flagged perspective. Flag tasks that have no due date but would be good to do during the next few days.