Deferred and Due Dates

Hello, I am new to OF (a past Things3 user and a little dabbling in 2Do). I am a consultant and trying to figure out how to best organize dates for my projects and tasks so that I can review work due in advance of each month to try and evenly disperse the weekly work. What is causing some difficulty is that I always know what months my reports are due, but don’t know the specific day of the month they are due until that month has begun and therefore I am finding the repeating tasks difficult as well.

For example, agency 1 has 6 reports due in November, February, May, and August. I won’t know what day November’s reports will be due until the first week of November. I thought it would be best to set a defer date of 11/1 and a due date of 11/30 and then update the due date when I have the actual one. But when I set these dates up and enter it as a repeating task, the dates are wrong. Are there any work-arounds for this? Thanks in advance!!

Here’s a suggested workaround - set up a repeating schedule for each client with a “placeholder” due date as the 1st of the month (or whatever date in the month you’re likely to know the due dat for the report) - that gives you the reminder that agency A needs a report in November. Make the task name something like “Set delivery date for agency A report”.

Then, when that task falls due, you know the reporting date - at that point you create the one-off task to deliver that month’s report.

Does that make sense? It means that you get reminded that there’s a report that month, and get to schedule the prep of the report to fit the particular constraints of that period.

1 Like