Filtering - especially on status

Is there any way to filter the rows that are displayed in OO? It would be especially useful to have a simple toggle to only display rows where the status is unchecked.

Even better, would be a simple query language you could type into the Find box.

I did find a script. But that only selects the rows. Then you could (I guess) delete them. But that’s not really want I want to do.

I’m somewhat new to OO and kind of surprised this feature doesn’t exist.

1 Like

In fact, being able to filter based on any column data would be best. And certainly within OG’s capabilities, since that’s basically what Perspectives in OmniFocus are. If they would only give us that capability in OO, it would enormously expand its utility and usefulness.

We have some edge cases to work out that don’t exist in OmniFocus (since OmniOutliner supports style propagation between adjacent rows), but filtering is definitely on our roadmap for OmniOutliner Pro.

1 Like

Thanks, Ken. It’s good to know it’s still on the map.

Since parent items are important to show after a filter has been applied (lest an item lose its context), I’ve been thinking that you already do this in Organize:Keep Sorted. If I sort by, say, checked Status Boxes, OO4 doesn’t simply move the checked boxes to the top, it keeps them in the context of their parent items. This is really helpful, and I hope filtering will keep this feature.