Gap between sequential project items

I have a sequential project to replace an air filter in my house. The first action is to order it and the second is to install it. Is there a way to automatically create a gap between the two? It is a recurring project so right now I could manually set defer dates but that wont work as the entire project with the two next actions is a recurring project.

I really want the second task to be deferred 2-3 days from the original next action completion.

1 Like

It is not possible without omni automation script. But maybe help if you add new task between these two “Waiting for filter delivery”

I am not opposed to an omni automation script. I have never dabbled with them before and I am very much a novice to writing code but I have some limited experience in it. Just need some guiding in the right start. Otherwise that was my thought to just place a waiting for filter delivery but would love to not have to manage that on my waiting to list. Just one more thing ya know.

Two tasks:
Order filter, @computer, defer 1/1, due 1/7
Replace filter, @home

When you order the filter, change its tag from @computer to @waiting and change your due date to something reasonable to get your attention if it hasn’t arrived.

When it arrives, complete the waiting task and your next action (replace task) becomes available.

Set the two-task project to repeat every x months.

I actually did what you suggested except setup the second task up by default to @waiting. This way it goes right to that list.

1 Like

That works too. In general, I don’t view a @Waiting task as one that is in a natural wait state (e.g., because there are prerequisite tasks before it) but rather as one that can’t be completed because I’m waiting on someone else.