How good is syncing IOS/OS X for OmniFocus?

Hi all.

I’m having issues syncing OmniOutliner documents between iMac (OS X 10.10.5) and iPad (IOS 9.3.5); due to the nature of the OO documents, it’s not a big deal for me.

HOWEVER, I’m also considering using OmniFocus (to replace Toodledo). And in the case of that app, flawless syncing would be very important to me.

Are you in a position to comment on the reliability of syncing OmniFocus on those platforms?

Thanks.

I have been using OmniFocus for the past 2+ years on two Macs (work and home), an iPad and an iPhone and have found syncing to be totally reliable. I have never had any problems.

1 Like

I’m glad you asked! We all do a ton of testing in this area, so I hope this isn’t too much information.

My Opinion
Syncing works well in OmniFocus and we consider it an important core feature. There are many factors that influence your syncing success and experience, including your network, your devices, your data, and where you are located compared to the server you are syncing to.

Ideal Scenarios

1. Using OmniFocus with wifi or high speed internet to sync using Omni Sync Server on modern devices (purchased in the last 2 years for iOS or last 4 years for Mac is how I define this). This is the best case scenario. I call this “situation ideal”. This isn’t required, but it sure helps with performance to have a fast device with a beefy connection that you can count on. If you don’t want the hassle of having to deal with a server yourself, I’d recommend you use ours which is free. More info on Omni Sync Server.