I'm finding OmniFocus 2 hard to use. Am I alone?

I keep my projects, (and I have hundreds, some of which I know I’ll never get to) in nested folders. I used to be able to drag things directly from my inbox to the appropriate folder. Now, I have to go through several steps to get it into the correct folder.

When I look at forecast and see an overdue action item, there’s a place for a date. but no pop up calendar. Are you kidding me? Am I supposed to remember each calendar month, what dates are on what days, etc.? How was this overlooked.

I hate the “flat” look, the “Google” look. I know everyone, (sadly Apple too) is trying to copy that almost monochromatic look and feel but, folks, it’s just ugly, not pretty like all things Apple, (and Omni) used look like.

I’m just getting started but this post will do for the beginning.

If this doesn’t get better soon, I’ll be forced to change.

So incredibly disappointing.

Will Wyatt

1 Like

You may want to spend a wee bit of time learning how version 2 works.

No need to drag things from inbox to folder: go to projects perspective, choose your project, create new item. One step, and perhaps the best, for someone who has hundreds of folders.

Yes, there are pop-up calendars. Sitting right there in the inspection bar.

I know you’re just getting started, and I assume you’re wearing official “cranky pants”. But v2 works much more nicely than v1 for most folks. You may be the exception, but it really is worth looking into how V2 works now.

1 Like

Yes - I’m seeing quite a few complaints that “there’s no calendar” - worth reminding people of this

1 Like

I find OF2 quite easy to use, actually. Nothing insurmountable in there & there’s some good stuff.
One wonders how many people griping are working on the trial & get upset as soon as something doesn’t work exactly as before.

OF1 was good, OF2 is cleaner, with a few small changes that aren’t always my favorite,