Limit your WIP to gain your sanity!

Let me preface this by saying that this concept may be very obvious to some, but to me it surely wasn’t! I hope this may bring some clarity to others in my situation.
I’ve been using Omnifocus for about 2 years now. Although its great, I have become increasingly frustrated with it not being “more agile” with more “power features”. So, I did what some do: started looking for another software solution that I thought would make me more productive, if only I had more features to work with! Over the course of the last two nights, I have spent nearly 10 hours researching and testing. I settled on Remember The Milk and 2DO. Both had great features, but lacked some that OF had. This got me down. So, I sat back and took a hard look at my projects.
I had an AHA moment: I simply have too many tasks to choose from! Seems obvious I know. Every day more and more tasks came in while less than that got completed.
During this intense mind sweep I remembered a concept I had heard from another method: Kanban. That concept was LIMIT YOUR WORK IN PROGRESS (WIP)! This was the key to relieving some of my task overload anxiety.
I immediately put every project on hold that did not meet the following criteria:
Has a due date
Is a recurring task that is flagged (meaning its either a daily, weekly or monthly task that populates in my HOTLIST prospective)
I ended up putting over 100 projects on hold! I then scrolled thru my “available” prospective and realized I am now only seeing the most in tasks, ones with actual meaning and not a bunch of someday/maybe’s mixed in!
I also deleted over 15 custom perspectives I thought I needed as well as context that were just causing more clutter.
This has lead me to a new morning practice:
Clean out my inbox, if not done from night before
Look at my “hotlist” perspective to get an idea on how full my day already is (criteria: flagged or due)