New OmniFocus Setup Ideas

How we all doing?

I’ve just started a new job and I’m looking for some guidance on how I should set up my OF structure. I’m also fairly new to this productivity game so I’m open to ideas. My current setup is based on Tim Stringer’s stuff over at learn omnifocus and my structure is built around my areas of focus/20,000 ft level. However, my work has changed quite a bit in nature with the new job so I’m looking for help with the following:

1. Essentially I’m a software developer but I’ve now joined a consultancy and have work and projects for different clients. This could be development work, support etc. I’ve created a sub-folder under Work named ‘Clients and Prospects’ and have started creating sub-sub-folders for each client/prospect as I start work for them in which I’ll create projects as they come along. This makes sense in my head but I’d value the opinions of people more experienced than me on taking this approach. Bear in mind the list of clients could become very long!!

2. As mentioned I’m a developer and so I’m also looking for advice on how much I should break down my tasks in projects. I get the idea of the GTD weekly review is to break down your work into widgets that you can crank (at least that’s my interpretation) so that the rest of the week, you just crank them and I’m on board with that. However, many of my tasks could take me days or longer to complete such as developing a particular piece of functionality. Am I not breaking my tasks down enough or do other developers find this? I don’t want to make each development project hideously complicated with many nested levels but I’d be very interested to hear how other developers who practise GTD break down their work into tasks and any OF workflows you use. Particularly if your work for a consultancy.

Looking forward to hearing what you lovely people come back with.

Andy