OF keeps opening "for the first time"

Just installed OF2 on a MacBook Air. I’ve been using it successfully on my iMac for several months.

For some reason, every time I open the app on the Air it’s giving me the message that “Omnifocus is an application downloaded from the Internet…”, as if I had just downloaded it. I’ve tried trashing the Preferences files, but to no avail. Any idea what might be causing this? Thanks!

Solved! Just had to actually empty the trash. :)

Negatory. The issue has reappeared. Every time I open OF, it’s as if I’ve just downloaded it. Why??

This is really unusual! I’m not entirely sure why this might be. That message is usually triggered by the presence of an extended attribute on the application – OS X puts one of these attributes on apps as they’re downloaded so that when they’re opened, you see that prompt and have to explicitly indicate it’s OK to continue.

Would you mind checking a couple things and reporting back with the results?

1. Where is your copy of OmniFocus installed? Most customers put it in /Applications, but a few run it from somewhere else.
  2. Once you’ve found the OmniFocus application, open a Terminal window. Type:
    xattr -p com.apple.quarantine
    with a space after the word “quarantine,” then drag the OmniFocus app onto the Terminal window. You should wind up with a command that ends with the full path to OmniFocus, like this:
    xattr -p com.apple.quarantine /Applications/OmniFocus.app
    Hit Return, then copy and paste the results of that command back here.

These two bits of info may give us some insight into why OS X is prompting you so frequently.

Wow, thanks so much for popping in, tekl. Here’s the result of that Terminal command:

0002;546dce15;Safari;76F3BC1A-BAA5-4C7B-8BD1-DC0FCCEDBB52

My copy of OF is installed in the standard place: at the top of the Applications folder. Thanks!