Omnifocus and Coronavisus (COVID-19)

Good evening, I am a doctor who has been using Omnifocus in the profession for several years.
I am the Health Director of the cremona hospital which is currently fighting a tough battle against the coronavirus epidemic.
I have abandoned the use of omnifocus!
While perhaps it would have been very useful, but the frenzy of these days has distracted me from its use.
I have a question: what can be an effective use of omnifocus in distressing situations and where you need to make quick decisions and act quickly.
Thank you

7 Likes

Iā€™ve never faced a situation anywhere near as difficult as yours at the moment. When Iā€™ve been in stressful situations, I try to simplify my mental load as much as possible. In OmniFocus I would:

• Put as many non-urgent OF projects as possible on hold, so that their actions are not available.
  • Create a small number of projects, or restructure the existing urgent projects. Increasing the clarity and flow of tasks through your system is more important than having everything structured in a detailed way. A small number of task ā€œbucketsā€, represented by the OF projects, is easier to think about.
  • Create a shortlist of tasks, a small enough list that it is not overwhelming for you. I would use the flag in OF for this since it is really easy to turn on/off on actions.

I read the article about your work on milano.fanpage.it to try to understand better what you are facing. You could perhaps create checklists in the form of projects, which you can then copy/paste as needed, for example to ā€œOpen a new wardā€. If appropriate, represent the actions which you need to do in order as sequential action groups or projects ā€” that way you can flag a whole branch in one click and only the current relevant action will appear in your shortlist (Flagged perspective).