Skipping or dropping a task

I’m new to Omnifocus and I’m currently testing the Pro-Try-Out Version 3.4.5 (v128.30).

Is there a way to skip a repeating task? Skipping seems only to work with projects by changing the status to “dropped” or am I missing something?

I think there are a few ways to skip something:

• drop
  • defer
  • complete

Because of how I have my repeated tasks occur, if I want to skip one I mark as Complete.

Dropping a repeated task will give you the option to Cancel action, Skip this occurrence or Drop Task completely.

Thank you, ScoutsHonor, however on my version the action to drop a single task is greyed out:

Is this because it’s the test version?
I just found a youtube video which says dropping an indivdual task is possible (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pYW9MMIrmSo) and I can’t get this to work here.

Also the filter rule ‘Availability: Dropped’ is missing in omnifocus perspectives creation dialoge window. 🤷🏻‍♀️

I think I’ve figured it out why the “dropping” functionality isn’t working for me. I have an old Omnifocus Version installed on my Mac, which I only used for a short time, because I wasn’t happy about the ‘context’ approach then. I like how OF3 handles tags now very much, by the way.

Will unregistering this old version (at ‘File’/‘Migrate Database…’) cause problems with the discount for users of previous versions of OF?

Yes, I think once you’ve migrated your database all the “new” functionality will appear.

1 Like

Will unregistering this old version (at ‘File’/‘Migrate Database…’) cause problems with the discount for users of previous versions of OF?

I don’t know. I would think you enter your old registration information when you purchase the upgrade and get new from Omni? I don’t think I have done a major upgrade in a long time - all step increments. Would be a good question for them as to the prefered action and please let us know what you find out.