Solution for a Cluttered Forecast View?

As a graphic designer, I routinely use a project template that contains 5 items, with one of them being an action group named “Prepare files for John Doe”. The action group contains about 30 items, serving as a checklist of all the files in their various formats that need to be handed off to the client. Because I need the action group “Prepare files for John Doe” to have a due date, all the items within it inherit that due date, and consequently my forecast view hundreds of granular actions, obscuring the bigger picture of what I need to accomplish that day.

I know the Forecast view is hardwired to show anything and everything with a due date. But practically, it would be so much more useful to me if it would just show the Action Group “Prepare Files for John Doe” with the option to drill down and see those actions IF I need to. As it stands, the Forecast view is pretty much unusable just because it’s throwing so much information at me.

Anyone have any work arounds or solutions to this problem?

1 Like

One approach I could suggest is to create a separate action that is a pointer to your full action group, and which will carry the due date. So you would have:

• An action group or project ‘John Doe deliverables’ containing the checklist of 30 items, without any due dates.
  • An action ‘Prepare assets for John Doe’. This would have the due date. In the notes section, you can put a link to the full action group/project.

You’d see only the single action appearing in Forecast, and you could flag or tag the full checklist project to make it appear in some of your perspectives, which offer more control over presentation (eg. perspectives returning ‘Entire Projects’ will enable you to expand/collapse the checklists).

1 Like