Subtask - Is there a way to show parent task as tag or projet path?

Hi, I’m new to omnifocus so maybe I just haven’t found the relevant settings, but the way omnifocus handles subtasks is a bit frustrating. In perspectives, I can either group and sort as individual actions - losing the parent tasks which makes a lot of subtasks confusing - or as entire project - which double counts parent task and subtask & clutters the view. (side note: I really think if I mark the parent task as “complelte with last actions” it should mean that the parent task is not to be counted in the badge and such). Ideally, I’d like the parent task to be displayed in a subdued way, just like how project paths are shown (maybe just appended it to project path). Is there a way to achieve this?

1 Like

There isn’t a way to achieve this in exactly the way you’re wanting.

But, I usually find that if I’m creating a ton of sub-groups of tasks in a given project, that it usually means I need to create a project folder then create full-fledged projects inside that folder. You can even create sub-folders and projects inside those folders for even more complexity if you need that.

I find that task sub-groups are mostly for visual organizational reasons when working from that project, rather than anything you can sort, filter, or organize with custom perspectives, etc.

Sorry, I’m sure that’s not the answer you were wanting, but I hope it was helpful.

Yeah I’ve figured using projects is the way to do this, but I have a ton of actions with only 2~3 subtasks and it’s very cluttering to have a bunch of tiny projects. Besides, I don’t understand the decision to display parent task and subtasks separately & count both in forecast etc. I think I’d either want only the parent task (e.g., a shopping list, I wouldn’t want every item to be its own task) or only the available subtasks. For what use case would the current behaviour be helpful? I’m genuinely curious.

1 Like