Where does a deleted item go? iOs or Mac


#9

The Problem is sometimes you realize your deletion after editing for a long while. Then “Undo” becomes very (!) messy and you get lost. Also the “Undo” does not show what really will be made undo (e.g. like in MS Word) it says Undo and Redo. So its hard to distinguish, what will happen after editing for a long time and then clicking undo.


#10

I know this is a workaround, and not exactly what you were looking for, but backups are available and manageable on iOS as well as Mac: https://support.omnigroup.com/omnifocus-revert-ios-backup/

At least that avoids the worry of running to Mac or changing to airplane mode or similar.

ScottyJ


#11

I am fully aware of backups. The reason why I switched to airplane mode was, because I didn’t want it to sync so I have to go back to the backups revert it back and fort and loose unnecessary time of my life.
I think that this a real crucial and basic issue, which is missing in omnifocus right now and making it more insecure for me.


#12

Yup, I hear you. In the forum, though, we’re limited to what users can suggest/do, so I just wanted to make sure any of those options were out there.

ScottyJ


#13

Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate your help! But what we can do though is to write to the OF-Support. I had contact with he support and they told me it was a “very” popular request. So I hope that more people write to the OF-Team. support@omnigroup.com


#14

I accept it’s an easy mistake to make. I have done it a number of times.
What is more scary is when you can’t find an action or task you knew was there and it’s gone missing! The old grey matter sometimes lets me down and I can’t for the life of me remember deleting the item! So now I just don’t delete…ever!


#15

Yes you are so right with when you can’t find something you knew it was there. Trash bins would definelty would help in this case.

Also to other guys who constantly say that there are backups anyway: What about when there is a bug about doing backups? What if the backups themselves are buggy or something like that? Then you would end up in a chaos. This is the reason why I always do a time machine backup, beacause in this way I can back up my original OF Data file and I am doing kind of semi-manual backups with my time machine.


#16

I agree. Just please stop deleting stuff. If you stop deleting there will always a be a record of completed items to fall back on. Sorry to go on about it. I know you want a better method but it doesn’t seem likely to be a planned feature. I say this out of sympathy because I have occasionally over the years lost track of items. Sometimes putting my iPhone back in my pocket causes data loss because my finger may inadvertently check off an item or picking up my iPad cause a similar annoying error.


#17

Yes this also happenes to me sometimes! Especially in the widget view I accidentally mark items as completed!

But still the completed Tasks are still there, they are just marked as completed. You could get them back with setting up perspectives etc. But once deleted, gone forever (except the uncomfortable backup solution.)


#18

Backups have been reliable for me since th beginning. Sadly, not available on iOS but rock solid on the Mac. OF does keep the last 100 backups. So you can literally go back in time to view your database at different stages. I think there is a daily backup done as well as another backup created whenever you quit OF.


#19

Anyhow bakcups are too burdensome and take longer, then just searching eg. in the trash bin.


#20

Guys it became so burdensome. I disabled the delete button in Omnifocus through the BetterTouchTool App, so I don’t accidentally delete tasks. But I have the problem now that I always have to press shift to delete a word inside a note.

Does somebody has another Idea how I could achieve it to delete a task with delete + another key and deleting a word while editing a task with the normal delete key? That would be awesome! Thanks!


#21

Maybe just use command-x to cut a task out ?


#22

It could be anything. But my desire is that the delete key itself doesn’t delete a task but the delete key itself can delete symbols or words inside the task or note field, just like in any other word editor. So my goal is to keep all the functionality, except then deleting a task with the delete key.

If you are interested in further discussions check:


Accidental Delete (Context) - Change to Command Delete!
#23

Putting in a +1 for this. Can’t let these threads die. It’s inconceivable how an app as powerful as OF has been lacking the most basic functionality for years.


#24

thank you very much. I just can hope more people, who care about security in OF, can join and write the support an email.


#25

Also +1 from me!


#26

It’s probably already been mentioned in the thread, but whilst posting ‘+1’ here is fine, but it’s not an effective way to make feature requests. Get in contact via an official support channel (email; omnifocus@omnigroup.com) to make certain it’s received and logged.


#27

nostodnayr is right. I hope you can also send OF an Email. What they mostly look at is how many people wrote to them about this request over which period of time.

Ken wrote something about this! :) Where does a deleted item go? iOs or Mac


#29