Any advice from self-employed consultants or case workers?

Grateful for advice on how to structure folders, and possibly tags/contexts.

I’m a self-employed management consultant and I’ve been using OF for 4.5 years. My current set-up has worked well up until now, when I have had only one major client, and little bits of other work here and there.

At the moment, I have three clients. All have long-term major projects, and one also has short term time-consuming imperatives. These short term items generate a lot of noise and heat.

Alongside my normal work, I have family and CPD commitments, the usual administrative tasks, and a career as a Reservist.

I have a number of questions:
-Currently I have folders which are broadly areas of focus, and sub-folders for clients projects. Does anyone use folders radically differently?
-When reviewing your projects, what placeholders do you use to ensure that your long term silent imperatives, and your short term noisy needs both get equal attention each week?

Obviously everyone has more projects and tasks than the time to do them. I’m looking for an adjustment that will help me to chip away at big blocks of long-term work consistently.

A couple of thoughts. I hope they help. For context, I’m a freelance project manager, have been for some time. Not the same as consultancy, but a lot of overlap.

• I make a folder per client, rather than per area of focus. I think that keeps your mind focused on the client which is where I would want it to be. I divide each client assignment into projects to provide some structure (e.g. vision, design, communications/engagement and so on).
  • I’m testing OF3 (which replaces the single context with the option for multiple tags. I’m using tags to identify things like the longer term, do it later staff.
1 Like

Hi Nick, useful, thanks. Are you finding that multiple tags are a temptation to overcomplicate your system?