Automatic defer 1 day

I’m fairly new to OF but I believe there is a way of automating deferral of uncompleted tasks to the next day by using ‘defer +1 day’ and ‘repeat every day.’

Checking through the Forum people have different methods of coping with theis situation. However, is there a way of doing this using an attached Applescript that checks for uncompleted tasks and advances those tasks by one day? Ideal would be to attach the script to a particular task but I doubt this is possible. The script could run at either the end of the day, or on OF quit/startup.

This can be done via Applescript, and it could be scheduled via cron or other shutdown/startup managers.

You might have an easier time though with a different approach. Avoid the intent to use defer to push (random sets of) tasks continually forward with no rhyme or reason other than “I could not get this task done today”. Instead, put the parent Project on hold until you are ready to carry it forward in earnest, and then set a Review period of something reasonable (say 3 days). Alternatively, don’t sweat the uncompleted tasks from the day. Just pick them up the next day.

JJW

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply. I’ve been taking a look at some of the Scripts available and it does look as though the way I thought might make things needlessly complicated.

However I do have some tasks that can be done as/when so long as they are completed before an ultimate deadline. Your suggestion that setting a review period on them or simply moving them on, is worth a look so I think I’ll give that a go before getting too involved in scripts.

the use of an on-hold instead of deferring was just discussed here. Perhaps you can gather more ideas here:

Thanks for the heads up. Useful discussion with some good ideas. It’s nailing those tasks which are not absolutely time critical but tend to vanish down a black hole that’s the problem.