Building a timeline view in OF

Hello! I’ve been using OF for many years and it is an incredible tool, but I have to manage so many tasks that I am searching for a way to visualize my tasks and projects in another way and I was wondering if it was in the projects of the team to associate a timeline to OF. If you consider how Pagico does on that point, I think it could be an incredible feature in OF. What about that ?

3 Likes

Maybe I’m missing something here, but isn’t this similar to the forecast view?

The forecast view is a very short timeline. I need to take a wider overview of my tasks.

Was there something about Pagico that you didn’t like?

Omnifocus has a great interface and it is completely integrated with Mac os. But I found a way to do what I was searching for since I customized the @context function and it works the way I need: I created a work list and added it to my contexts and voilà. It is a “timeline-like”… but but but: if you consider the vertical timeline that is on the top right of that page, you have an example of a timeline that could be very useful if it was integrated in OF in a horizontal line combined with Calendar. Not only a calendar timeline, but a time overview. That’s exactly what Pagico automatically produces and what Omniplan does too.

I would love to see a timeline view as well. I’m currently using Aeon Timeline, and there is a lot of duplication of effort in maintaining the two.

Hey Timeliner, thanks for this suggestion! We’ll be glad to record your support for that - just drop us an email with your request at omnifocus@omnigroup.com.

Omniboard is a very useful tool for giving an overview about your projects. https://github.com/jyruzicka/omniboard

1 Like

Thanks for the mention of Pagico. It’s exactly what I’ve been looking for!