Collaboration in Omnifocus 4

Will omnifocus 4 really give us the ability to collaborate with colleagues on whole projects?

I see that they are working on version 4 for mobile devices, but seemingly not for Mac… That makes me think that this major new feature might not be included in the next version. Surely it would need to be worked into the desktop version too…

I’ve been using omnifocus for 4 years now and it’s great. But I’m going to have to change to another system because of the lack of collaboration features.

Before making the change I am trying to see if this feature might be forthcoming… and if it’s forthcoming soon enough for me to wait…

I’ve found that collaboration would only be effective if both you and the recipient are both using OmniFocus. Everyone has a different preference of task managers. The only time the buy-in works is if a company mandates all their employees to use the same app for collaboration purposes.

At my previous office, I used Asana because that was what the project manager wanted. He didn’t care if I used OmniFocus. All he cared was that he saw the task completed in Asana.

I’ve worked it out where I see a task in Asana and I will develop a project in OmniFocus that has the specific next actions for me to use. My boss didn’t care about the various subtasks unless he assigned it to me in Asana. He gave me the scope and the defined expected outcome. I fleshed out that Asana task with my own next actions in OmniFocus that fit my workflow. If I had further questions, I would contact him to get more information and fill out the rest of the project.

OmniFocus is originally built as a personal task manager. Collaboration is on the roadmap but there is no announced ETA yet.