Defer dates, and general organisation

Hi, I’m pretty new to OF2. I have many projects, and many tasks within each project. About 95% of my tasks have a defer date.

My problem is that I’m not getting through all my tasks in a day, and I have 20-30 tasks each day that don’t get done, so I have to keep pushing them out to the future. To the point now where its just like pushing this big pile of tasks out into the future by a couple of days. Its difficult to know what’s important and what’s not so important.

Any thoughts?

1 Like

It sounds like you are using defer dates for all tasks that you don’t manage to accomplish today. Try to use defer dates only for tasks that you for specific reasons can’t start working on before given dates. Then use due dates for tasks that have real deadlines - with consequences if they aren’t accomplished. For other tasks, you could simply continue working on them tomorrow if you don’t manage to finish them today. For prioritizing, you could for example use flags. And for not getting lost among lots of tasks, use the review feature regularly for choosing which tasks to start working on.

7 Likes

Have you tried using flags? Here’s a suggested workflow:

Make a Perspective that shows you Available actions that are Not Flagged. Use that every morning to choose the 5 things you want to get done. Make sure to flag the overdue items first. Choose 5 things.

Make A Perspective that shows Available actions that are Flagged. It should show the 5 things you chose to do. Do those five things, and mark them done. If you get through all 5, go back to the unflagged Perspective and choose five more. If you come to the end of the day and there are things left on your Flagged list, unflag them instead of deferring them. Keep defer dates for actions that cannot be started until after their defer dates.

Next morning, look at the unflagged list, and choose your five actions. Continue the process.