Depressingly Accurate Thread

I’m an owner of Pro versions of the latest OmniOutliner on macOS and iOS, so I’m not a hater, but there is a worryingly accurate thread over on the MacPower users forum about under-utilised software.

I have participated in the thread, but the overwhelming winner is OmniOutliner.

The view is that it’s too fiddly, too slow, and too document-centric (as opposed to a document library model) to be of much use.

I really hope the Omni team take a look at OmniOutliner for the future, because I think it really needs an overhaul to be able to last into the future.

I don’t find the current version to be “fiddly” or “slow” at all. I run much of my life & projects using it. I find the outline metaphor by far the best way of managing information that doesn’t lend itself to a simple, uniform structure, and OmniOutliner implements that metaphor in more usable way than anything else I’ve found.

I don’t find the document model to be an issue; in fact, it’s an advantage from a security perspective. I can store safely outlines with confidential client information on an encrypted disk partition. I wouldn’t dare store this information in OneNote or another online product, despite their lightweight security features.

The one thing I miss in OmniOutliner is integration of simple OmniFocus-like features: the ability to tag and prioritize action items and then view and manipulate them in a separate action-oriented view that’s still tied to the underlying outline. Having to maintain duplicate information in a separate application (OmniFocus) for this is just too cumbersome. Various outline-based products have had this capability over time–the most recent being Circus Ponies Notebook–but alas none of them have survived.

1 Like