"Due" Dates vs. "Do" Dates

As a college student, I have a lot of things “due” on certain dates, but I, of course, want to “do” the majority of the work for those assignments before that due date. So I made a generalized “due/do” table for when things are due for the semester and when I plan to do them during the week. It works great for assignments that are always due on the same day of the week, but not every professor organizes the workload that way.

I use Omnifocus and Google Calendar. I like to keep things digital because it’s convenient and time-saving.

Does it make more sense to put the actual due dates in Google Calendar and set the “due dates” for when to “do” work in Omnifocus? Or is there a better way to integrate this soft/hard due date information?

For example, I have Modern Physics lab reports due every Wednesday. I try to get the majority of that work done on Sundays. So I would put the due date, Wednesday, in my Google Calendar. And I would put the “due date” to do that assignment in Omnifocus on Sunday.

It seems to generally work, but I don’t like the fact that there’s a sort of disconnect for each task. Especially when it’s a type of task that isn’t due on a scheduled day every week. I have to manually look up when the task is actually due on Google Calendar. It’s not automatically integrated into Omnifocus.

Does anyone have any suggestions or comments on the issue?

I would recommend leaving the due date as the “true” time when the task is due, not when you intend to do it. For that I would use the defer date. That way, the tasks pops up in your perspectives when you can or want to do it, but in case of changing priorities, you can still adjust the execution, knowing when the task is truly due.

3 Likes

Ah. So are you saying that you can set defer dates before the due date? I had originally thought defer dates were to push a due date further into the future if you didn’t get to it.