Feature request: Today list

I started playing around with Things 3 and they a feature that really is what I am hoping OmniFocus will allow at some point. Basically they let you start your day but making a “Today” list of things you’d like to get done. These tasks aren’t necessarily due but rather just a today list of tasks.

I start my day by looking through all my action lists in OF. From there, based on my schedule and available time for the day I make a selection of tasks that I want to try and accomplish. Here is where the problem lies. I wish I could have a “Today” type list that didn’t require me to set “fake” due dates or flag actions. I would say 85% of my next actions don’t have a “hard” due date. Things like “Take out trash” every Sunday is actually “due” because if I don’t then I’ll have full trash bins. But things like “practice guitar” aren’t “due” but if I want to see them on my today list I either have to make it due or flag it. The problem with flags is I like to use them as a way to select two or three actions from my “today” list and focus on them for the next 30-60 minutes. If I have 30 tasks I want to get done for any specific day, flagging 2 or 3 is a great way for me to focus. If I try to build my today list with due and flagged task then everything is flagged or has to have a fake due date.

Is this something that anyone else has struggled with?

3 Likes

How about using #today and have a perspective search for that till we get multiple tags and manual sorting in perspectives in the near future?

3 Likes

Yeah I’ve been doing that. Not quite the same but I’m hoping the new features coming in Q4 will address this need.

2 Likes

@Jan_H & @davidc I Agree with both of you.

T3 can teach us OF2 users a few lessons. More flexibility for today may soon become a reality in OF2 now that drag n drop is being tested. Tags/flexible repeats can’t come a moment too soon. OF2 is heading towards an exciting development period soon.