Flags vs Forecast Tag & “Today” View

I’ve been struggling with how to use Flags vs a Forecast Tag. In OF2, I would use flags to indicate tasks that I wanted to do today & had a custom perspective to show me all Due & Flagged tasks.

With OF3 you can use the Forecast Tag to pull items into the Forecast perspective.

I haven’t been able to settle on a workflow since the introduction of the forecast tag in OF3. How are you all using flags & forecast tags? What does your daily dashboard look like?

I am new to OmniFocus and thought I was going to love forecast view but I really did not abandoned ship on it. It lacked control for me. I have created a custom perspective called focus that pulls in all flagged items and all “Due Soon” items (I set due soon to due within 24 hours). For me personally I have one folder that it also integrates into that view for my high priority client work.

In addition to that I create a different perspective for each day of the week with various areas of focus (gtd wording, aka folders) and also these same flagged and due soon items.

I have found this workflow is perfect. I start my day in my focus perspective and once through that move to my particular day.

Lots of ways to do this or a similar workflow. I’ve been using OmniFocus since v2 and come from a Getting Things Done background.

For me, the Forecast perspective is for tasks that I want to do today. Some tasks have a date and a time. Those appear in Forecast automatically. Then I have tasks that I want to do today but don’t have a particular time. For those, I use a “Today” tag (probably the same as your “forecast” tag).