FYI - 2 OF / Obsidian plug-ins that FWIIW I find useful

Hi all,

Just sharing two plug-ins that FWIIW I find useful in the context of using both OF and Obsidian. Disclaimer - I am new to Obsidian, new to OF automation, and have never written JS, so many apologies in advance if things are not in standard form. Figure that if things are amiss someone will let me know and I can learn something :-)

The first is a modified version of Omni Automation Plug-In: Obsidian The modified version allows for the selection of multiple tasks - all the selected tasks are copied to Obsidian. A GitHub gist is here: of-task-to-obsidian-mod.omnifocusjs Note that someone from OF support helped immensely by taking a first pass at it - I just tweaked it.

The second is plug-in will append Obsidian like cross-links to two selected tasks at the bottom of the notes field. The GitHub gist is here: of-cross-link-2-objects.omnifocusjs

Why this post? Because as I use Obsidian more, I am finding that I am moving non active or non todo stuff out of OF and into Obsidian. OF projects can sometime generate a lot of information and data that I donā€™t want to loose but no longer wish to track in OF - so with the first plug-in all the selected notes can be click moved to an Obsidian folder at once.

Regarding the second plug-in, with Obsidian I am finding that forward/back linking is effective, so wanted something similar in OF, and wanted that to be a click or close to it.

With regards to going the other way, from Obsidian to OF, so far I am finding that to be rare. And when needed, it is usually a single note which is manually cut and paste-able.

Hopefully this is useful to someone.

3 Likes

Hi @sandy ! Thanks for referring to that Obsidian plugin that was published a while ago. I see it is built out for OF 4.x, which isnā€™t available yet.

I hope your modified version is built for OF 3.x? If so, then Iā€™ll look forward to using it!