Handle lot of tags, lot of them become unused

I sometimes wish to add a tag for a person, but I know I will need this tag for only few months, for a big project. I was wondering if it would make sense to add an option when creating tag (usually when adding item) to automatically delete the tag when all actions tagged with it are done.
I think it would be good essentially for all my person tags @Arasmus @claire etc but also it would be an opportunity for others tasks. It would unclutter the visualization when adding tag for new tasks and also it’s not a big deal to re-create a new tag like @Arasmus if we need it again.

What do you think about it?

In some cases it would be useful - but in other cases it might well cause problems, e.g. I use lots of automations and say Hardware Store 🏬 gets removed and then I automatically add a new task with that as a tag it would no longer be sorted where it was previously (under Errands). If it were added it would have to be an option - and also perpectives would have to be considered that would depend on those tags, should they break or be auto updated?

A simple solution would be to evaluate your tags on a regular basis (monthly perhaps) and to remove those you know you no longer need.

A simple solution would be to evaluate your tags on a regular basis (monthly perhaps) and to remove those you know you no longer need.

Sure!! But I’m already fighting to respect my weekly review :) I don’t want to spend more time to planning than to execute tasks.

it would no longer be sorted where it was previously (under Errands)
I suppose you noticed that you can write Errands : Hardware Store …but yes you’re absolutely right, this should only be an option, but not one in the preferences, in case by case: when adding a new tag in iOS, “+ create TAG” does appear, we could have on right side something like “until completed” or “temporarily tag” and we could just tap on it to add this option on this new tag.

I don’t like “options”, so imho it should be really transparent. I wonder if other people would find it useful.

You already have the possibility of dropping a tag. When the status of a tag is changed to ‘Dropped’, it does not appear in the outline of tags (with view ‘Remaining’) nor in the suggestions/autocomplete when you apply a tag. This does not change any actions which have the tag, so the history of completed tasks is not altered and there are no unwanted side-effects.

2 Likes

Part of my monthly review workflow includes looking at tags and seeing if I need to rename or delete it. It’s just part of housekeeping and I am intentional with it. I know what has been deleted because I deleted it myself. I don’t know if I want self-destructing tags. I might have some perspectives that relies on a tag and I inadvertently set it to self-destruct.

There is an option to “drop” the tag instead of setting it to active and on hold. Then we have perspectives that will show only active or on hold tags. I’m more inclined to use that.

I’ll have to think about this some more…

With regards to linking to people, I wish I could link directly to contacts on my Mac or iDevice. As far as auto deleting tags, I think that would get me in trouble.

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed 30 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.