Help with status of "Waiting" context

Hi,

I am new to OmniFocus and am a little confused about the status for contexts, especially the “Waiting” context (I think it is in-built) which has a status of “On Hold”.

1. I expected that clicking on Contexts > Waiting would list all projects that have their status set to “On Hold”. However, the context seems to only list items whose context is set to “Waiting”. Is this behaviour normal? Is there a way to see all items that have the status “On Hold”?

2. When I assign the context “Waiting” to a project or action, it does not change its status to “On Hold” even though the status for the context has been set to “On Hold”. However, actions with the “Waiting” context do behave like “On Hold” items, in that they do not show up in the Available view. In effect, actions with a listed status of “Active” behave like “On Hold” actions. I find this quite confusing! Shouldn’t their status change based on that of their context?

I’d gladly welcome some help in understanding the issue better. Many thanks!

1 Like

Hi @Anjadekar! Welcome to OmniFocus. I’ll try to tackle your questions in order.

1. In OmniFocus, contexts are their own containers. They can hold actions, or other contexts, but they aren’t “filters” for the rest of your database. In that sense, Waiting is just another context – when you click it, you see the things assigned to Waiting, but it doesn’t search across the entire database for other on-hold items.

If you have OmniFocus Pro, you can set up a custom perspective to show projects that are on hold. Take a look at the Perspectives setting of the user manual for more details on this.