How best to store reference lists?

In my unnamed former GTD app, there was a feature that I have not found an equivalent way of doing in OF2.

I could create “reference lists” for things like “Places to Go”, “Books to read”, etc. These would be treated as someday/maybe lists that I could then drag-n-drop list items into Inbox when I decided to act on them.

A word of caution, I am an OF newbie with OF2 being my first time using Omni product so I am green on OF terminology.

Thanks!

1 Like

If you want to keep them within OmniFocus, a “single action list” is probably what you’re looking for. This is a type of project (the others are parallel and sequential) where there’s no sense of a “first available” action – you might work on them in any order.

(Some people also choose to keep these lists in a separate app, since they’re more vague ideas, not something you expect to get done in the near future.)

PS For the sake of being overly clear about forum etiquette as we start this new space, it is generally okay to talk about other GTD apps by name, if you want to, when it’s relevant to the conversation. (If you were just advertising them, not adding value to the discussion, that would be poor form.)

2 Likes

Agreed, I’ve been storing reference lists as single actions, with the context set to someday/maybe so the lists don’t always appear as available. I do have a “review reference lists” task which occurs every couple of weeks to make sure I glance at them. Reference lists I’ve found most valuable are things like

gift ideas (separate project for each person)
ideas for fun family events
books to read & movies to see
restaurants I’d like to try

J

1 Like