How do I Create Reference/Checklists

Hi there

I’m fairly new to OF and want to create reference/checklists that I will use for activities I carry out on an irregular basis Eg a list of items to take when I’m travelling or say delivering a seminar and need to remember to take - pens, handouts, the projector connector lead etc etc. I want to be able to tick the items off and then be able to use the list again the next time I’m travelling etc. I’m sure there must be an easy way of doing this but can’t find it - I see how to do it for regularly recurring activities but not for events that happen as different times.

Loving the wisdom that’s out there on this forum but couldn’t find anything to help me with this.

Here is what I have done. I created a folder called “GTD”. In that folder, I have created projects for each of my GTD categories:

• Life Purpose (50,000 ft)
  • 3-5 Year Goals (40,000 ft)
  • 1-2 Year Goals (30,000 ft)
  • Books to Read
  • Vacations to Take

Etc. All of these projects are single action lists sand are on hold. I add a task for each item I want in that list. I set up the review schedule based on GTD (for example, Life Purpose is once/year but Books to Read is once/month).

As things move out of here, I just need to move the task out to into my active folders/projects.

I have a folder called Templates where I have stalled projects for things like packing for a trip. When I’m going on a trip, I just make a copy of the Taking a Trip project that gets put into the right folder (in my case Personal), and make it available. It’s worked well so far.

2 Likes