How to Create Repeating Task Monthly on Specific Day [added in OmniFocus 3]

I apologize if I’m missing something, but is it possible to create a repeating task such as “review business report with boss” that repeats on the 1st Tuesday of every month?

16 Likes

no, not yet. OmniFocus’ repeat options have been very basic since version 1.0. Hopefully a future update will change that.

For now, I just use BusyCal to create what you were asking for.

You can send in your feedback via Help > Contact Omni to send your vote in to Omnigroup. Hopefully our votes will push this feature request up the ladder.

1 Like

Thanks for the clarity. I’m relatively new in my commitment to making OF holistically work. It’s a little troubling that this has been lacking since version 1.0; I’d think that this type of functionality would be a pretty key requirement if you wanted to have this in OF rather than using a calendar. I’m trying to use Calendars for actual time specific things such as meeting, etc., rather than tasks. I’ll take your advice and share feedback with the company. Thanks!

1 Like

+1 for this feature request. I have stuff I like to do on the first Saturday of the month. :-)

2 Likes

+2, and I was surprised this wasn’t possible already.

I’ll be emailing Omni to add my vote. Hope you guys have/will as well? :)

ScottyJ

3 Likes

+3: I second that!

2 Likes

+another one please! I have quite a few tasks I do on a particular day of the month!

2 Likes

@vok and @stevemccoy make sure to email Omni. That’s how they record interest in a given feature :)

2 Likes

+1 here for this as well. Just needed it for the first time and was really surprised not to find it.

2 Likes

+1 - I have a number of tasks that need this feature. It’s really unfortunate to be required to kludge a workaround for “on the last day of the month”, etc. Surely there are good designs for this in the wild already.

1 Like

+1 Can’t believe this hasn’t been added yet!

2 Likes