How to deal with tasks taking several days to finish

Hi all!

I have tasks taking more than just a day to finish and which are not so easily “splittable” into subtasks (preparing presentations for lectures for my students). These take typically between 1 and 4 days to finish. Obviously they have due dates: the day on which I have to hold the lecture.

How would you guys deal with a task like this o OmniFocus? How would you set due dates, context, deferred dates (I have dates for all of my lectures several months beforehand) etc.? When would you make OmniFocus remind you of the task, given the fact that it takes more than one day to finish?

I am new to OmniFocus and would be glad to any kind of advice from the more experienced users!

Thanks,
Michael

I would set a defer date for putting it off until I actually want to start it. As you say, the due date would be set for when it is absolutely due (for me, that would be the day before I give the presentation - I don’t like developing on the day I actually present).

When it becomes available (a good way to watch for these is in the Forecast perspective, make sure deferred items are included in view), I might flag it to have it appear in my Flagged perspective for my attention. Another trick is to flag it when creating it so that as soon as it becomes available (after defer date), it shows up in Flagged (as long as Flagged shows only available tasks).

From there, it is just flagged until it’s done. Multi-day tasks are not uncommon. In GTD speak, whether something is a project or a task is a matter of personal preference and whether or not you have the right kind of placeholder to drive your own action.

HTH,

ScottyJ

1 Like

Easy. A recurring daily task of making progress on the work.

• Do some work on presentation (repeat every 1 day)