How to Make OF Work (Better) For Me?

Hey everyone!

I’m so happy to see that there’s forums for Omnifocus - I’ve been using for about two months and every time I think I have it down, something else pops up. Omnifocus has been a life saver for me, I’m a student and blogger. Currently I’m using OF mostly as a student on my iPhone, I’m also looking into buying for iPad and my Mac as well.

But I’m looking to clear things up / have a few questions. Right now, I have a project set up for every class I have and then I have the project flagged and assignments in the project. I’m wondering if folders would be better for this, and then have each assignment as a project in the folder?

Any other tips would help too!

Thanks!

1 Like

You should watch Davis Sparks’ Omni Focus Ninja Videos They’ll clear things up.

I’d suggest you handle your classes like David handles his clients (he’s a lawyer). Make a folder for each class, and then make a new project for every assignment in class that takes more than one simple step. For example, the term paper is a project, the lab project is a project, organizing the study group is a project – you get the idea.

Good luck!

2 Likes

Thank you so much, I’m checking those out!

I would also put a Single Actions List project in each folder to handle the single stuff.

Folder: Biology 101
Single Actions List: Science Assignments

Folder: History 210
Single Actions Lists: History Assignments

Folder: Psychology 210
Single Actions List: Psychology Assignments

For major project assignments such as the “Mid-term research paper - Marco Polo”, I would imagine that this is a project that requires more than one action. This would get its own project inside the folder.

For single stuff such as homework (Read Chapter 7, pages 120-150), I would enter this as a task inside the History Assignments folder. It is only one action and can go in the Single Actions List that resides at the top of each folder.

[History]
• History Assignments