How to organize information as roles?

Hello everyone! I’m new to the forum, but I have a question I would like to ask the group.

I am used to planning life based on my role. Dad, Work-Job#1, etc…, organization-committee chair, etc.

I am just learning Omnifocus and relatively new to GTD. With projects (made up of actions) and context being where to do said projects/actions, is there a way to organize this info by which role it applies to?

Would it be @dad or @Work-job#1 etc? Yet those tasks can often be done anywhere… Would the tasks be organized by folder under Projects? Or with a #tag to keep things in an assigned hierarchical (and thus #alphabetical-tag order?

Sorry for the ramble. I’m new and trying to organize this correctly (for me) from the start.

Any ideas or suggestions?
Thanks!
–Mark

1 Like

I organize my projects in folders: one folder for each role. This way your projects are visually separated from each other in the project outline. For one-off tasks I have a single-action list in each of the folders.

1 Like

As @vloris says, folders are generally the way to go. They’re called “Areas of Responsibility” in GTD. I have eg:

Home and Family
  Project 1 
  Project 2
Work
  Project 1
  Project 2
etc

Importantly they’re ordered by priority, so anytime I’m looking at things unsorted in context view I get the “most important” area’s items first.

3 Likes

Thank you both so very much. That is a big help. I appreciate you taking the time to respond. Thanks!

2 Likes

You’re welcome! That’s what these forums are for :)

2 Likes

First of all, I’m not asking for a tagging feature in OF - unfettered tagging is a trip down a rabbit hole since who can remember what tags we used 3 weeks ago when they assigned then and they seemed logical then?