Import from Things 3

Is there any way to import from Things 3?

No good one. Currently, you can export tasks via copy/paste, but the unedited export is really messy. You could make things slightly better by copying into a text redaction tool like textsoap, but this only makes it slightly better.

I’ll play a little with options and report back. I think into the direction Things-Textsoap-??-OmniOutliner- OmniFocus

This thread has an AppleScript (plus modification) that is reported to be working.

Cheers,

ScottyJ

1 Like

Trying to export from current version of Things (3.6), but the script is not working… I am not good with scripts :-(

I get an error on this line:
repeat with aToDo in to dos of list “Anytime”
Syntax Error. Expected expression but found “to”.

This is chinese to me…

Help? I really want to go back to OF, but I have too much stuff to migrate…

Thanks!

I just tried it and I’m not getting any syntax errors. Is it possible you’ve missed out a line of the script or added something by mistake?

Also make sure the first line of the script is:

tell application “Things3”

1 Like

Looks like a space between “to” and “dos” crept in - but that might be the plaintiff’s typing in the error rather than pasting. (Or something.)

So “todos” would be a variable and might well have also appeared on a prior line.

No, to do is correct.

OK. Thanks!

1 Like

That did it. Thanks!!!

Hey all,

I just made the switch from Things 3 to Omnifocus 2. It was pretty easy, using Drag & Drop, and a bit of copying and pasting. I actually enjoyed taking the opportunity to review my tasks, improve my contexts a bit, and start afresh.

I documented my experience, and included step-by-step instructions on how to do it on my blog here:
http://bit.ly/things-to-omnifocus

Hope it helps :)

3 Likes
1 Like

Is there any way to add something to this to make it not import duplicates??
Thank you Mate.

What kind of duplicates are you seeing? Are they in a particular list on T3?

1 Like