Initial impressions of OF4 quality

First, a little background. I’m new to OmniFocus, coming from heavy, long-term usage of both Todoist and Things. Todoist has always been the more feature-rich tool, but with an awkward UI and persistent bugs. Things3 is relatively lean, but is probably the most refined and bug-free mac+iOS app I’ve used.

My hope for OF4 was to get some more advanced features within a native mac+iOS experience. So far it has delivered. I tried it for 2 weeks and liked it enough to buy it, and so far things are working pretty well. The only real cause for hesitation is the sheer number of bugs I’m running into. I’ve been reporting roughly a bug per day (sometimes two) since I’ve been using the app. But there are certainly some mitigating factors that I’m trying to keep in mind:

• This is a big, major update, so presumably there is a hefty backlog of bugs and a steady stream since GA. i.e. things should stablize. (Counterpoint: didn’t they work on it for years, though?)
  • Most of the bugs are of the weird UI glitch variety that can be fixed by switching views, or restarting if necessary. Annoying but easy to move past. This is different from Todoist, where bugs were like whole projects literally just disappearing permanently.
  • Support has responded to my bugs promptly, so at least that first-line experience is good.

The real test will be over the coming months, as my usage grows and Omni presumably has had time to burn down some of the backlog. If I see more new features coming out while reported bugs languish, I’ll be pretty disappointed. But I’ve not dealt with an Omni product before so I’m optimistic OF4 will stabilize, as I really do like the feature set!

8 Likes

Welcome! OF4 will improve.

Hi!
OF3 is really great and stable (OF2 was too) and I’m sure OF4 will be too quite soon.
As a happy OF3 user I’m going to wait a little (e.g. 4.1). If I was new I will definitely jump into OF4 and start using it.