Interact with OmniFocus?

It seems OmniPlan should drive OmniFocus in some fashion. I’m not launching a space shuttle, I’m a grad student and have things I’d like to plan out using a tool such as OmniPlan - but since I use OmniFocus to track projects and tasks, there seems to be a disconnect.
Maybe if OmniFocus had a Gantt view?
I’m contemplating buying OmniPlan, but at the moment, it seems like overkill and a duplication of effort.
Would appreciate insight from more experienced users.

1 Like

OmniFocus and OmniPlan are not currently set up to talk to or sync with one another (that said, we would like to implement this in the future!)

If you would like to use OmniPlan alongside OmniFocus, data would need to be moved between the apps manually. To move data from OmniFocus to OmniPlan, you’d need to export data from OmniFocus as a CSV file and import that file into OmniPlan. Going the other way, you can export data from OmniPlan as an OmniOutliner file and import that into OmniFocus.

Alternatively, Forecast mode in OmniFocus offers the ability to display tasks created in OmniPlan. If you were set up a publishing action in OmniPlan which publishes your tasks to the Calendar application on your Mac, Forecast mode will display these actions in OmniFocus. You won’t be able to mark your OmniPlan actions as complete, but you could at least see the OmniPlan tasks you have scheduled for the day.

I hope this information is helpful!

Thanks for the reply.
I suppose if I project planning was my job and I was using OP, this would be a workable solution.
It looks like I need to continue my search for project planning software - something between “family vacation” and “launch space shuttle.”

1 Like

Maybe this is my answer:

OmniPlan/OmniFocus has apparently been on the “to do list” for at least three years. Any progress? This is what I’m waiting for to convince me to purchase OmniPlan.

2 Likes