Is there an Autosave in OO?

Just had a remarkable loss of work: my OO-document refused to save, saying ‘can’t find this document because it doesn’t exist’. Yet the document was open! I tried to copy all content to save it in an other document. But copying didn’t work. Finally the program crashed, the work was gone and the document showed the status of some hours before. I couldn’t find an ‘Autosave’ function. Is there one or are there other strategies to prevent similar catastrophes?
Thanks for help
Matthias

Hi. I’m not an expert, but I believe that OO automatically saves its documents, because once in a while I get an error msg stating that an OO document could not be saved because an attachment had been modified by another app, etc…

But I was unable to find any documentation on this function. And I believe (but could be wrong on this) that its autosave function simply updates the one document. I don’t think it makes different versions of it.

While working on the document (in OO), is it possible that you did something to it in the Finder? Like move it to a different folder, etc.??

Do you use Time Machine?

Good luck.

As long as you haven’t checked “Ask to keep changes when closing documents” in OS X System Preferences / General, then Omni Outliner will both continuously autosave your document AND periodically save versions. I don’t remember the conditions that determine when versions are saved. You can revert to a previous version via File / Revert To …

And, as M_ichel mentioned, it’s a good idea to be running Time Machine. Actually, I belive the Omni versioning capability is in some way integrated with Time Machine.

1 Like

If you ever get into a situation where OO won’t save, export to OPML instead. Often it will work, and it’s trivial to reimport the OPML after restart.

1 Like

Hi M_ichel, fssbob and anamorph,