Jump to/Highlight an Object question

Hi there.

I’m having trouble figuring out how to make a custom plugin action. Does anyone know how to jump to an object by Name or a key value via Object Data? I’m imagining a plugin action that takes the value of target on the clickable object and then highlighting the object with that value’s name or some key value.

For example:

• Object One Data: target: someObject
  • Object Two Data: id: someObject
  • Where clicking Object One with the Action Browse Tool highlights Object Two.
  • First object with matching id that’s found would be fine. It’s up to the user to create unique id values.

If I use Action > Jump to... > Highlight an Object the action link frequently breaks (linking to the wrong object). I’m not sure if this is due to something I’m doing of if it’s a bug, but it wouldn’t matter if I could use this custom action. I will keep trying to figure it out myself—and if I do I’ll post the answer here—but I’m not an expert at this.

Thanks!

With trial and error I got most of the behavior I want with this script:

var target = document.windows[0].selection.graphics[0].userData['target']
var anchor = document.windows[0].selection.canvas.graphicWithUserDataForKey(target, 'anchor')
document.windows[0].centerVisiblePoint = anchor.geometry.center

But it doesn’t work if the object with the target key isn’t selected. How can I make this work with the Action Browse Tool?? Still trying to find that in the documentation.

I’d also like to figure out how to search all canvases and jump to the object on any canvas.

Ok. This looks through each canvas for the matching object and centers the view on that object.

var target = document.windows[0].selection.graphics[0].userData['target']
canvases.forEach(function(cnvs){
    if (cnvs.graphicWithUserDataForKey(target, 'anchor')) {
    document.windows[0].selection.view.canvas = cnvs