Looking to create an AppleScript to batch add to notes section of a task

I like to use the notes section to put information into my tasks to refer to later. Sometimes I need the same information in a bunch of different tasks throughout OF. I want to select multiple tasks and/or projects and be able to get an input box to either type or paste in the information into all the tasks at the same time.

Can someone help me with writing this script? I’m new to AppleScript, but not to programming.

Great idea! I’m actually interested in doing this to add “tags” to the notes section. I will see if I can come up with anything. I will let you know if I do. If there are any existing scripts anyone else knows of please do chime in.

I realized that in Yosemite, I can write the script in JavaScript. So, I did just that. You can find the gist for it here: https://gist.github.com/gbcosgrove/f307117f71d210d88bc2

Just copy and paste this in the Apple Script editor, hit the compile (hammer icon) and save it. Make sure to append .scpt to the end and then move it into the omnifocus folder or wherever you keep your scripts. I’m going to make a clear notes and append notes script soon. Right now, if you select a task that already has notes, it will overwrite them.

Awesome, thanks! I am definitely interested in finding a way to append to a note, rather than overwrite it. I often add notes to tasks when I create them and I really would not want to overwrite those when I a process them.

I wrote a quick applescript that will prompt the user for text and add it to the notes of selected tasks (or append as a new line if the note already has content): https://gist.github.com/chrisbirdsall/3a963c08680c558898ef

Cool, I will check it out. I updated my code so that it appends the notes instead of clearing them. https://gist.github.com/d84ec4e53feacc56e1a5.git

2 Likes