Migrate database from Things to OmniFocus

[UPDATE. Spoiler alert: a script that works quite well is on GitHub.]

Hey everybody. Newbie here. Sorry if this is a frequent question: I’ve poked around on the web and here and I cannot find anything up to date (ie for OmniFocus 2).

I am fairly convinced I want to make the move from Cultured Code’s Things to OmniFocus Pro.

But I have hundreds of projects and tasks in Things. Is there any way to convert everything to OmniFocus? (Even if it’s not “simple,” as long as it’s accurate and comprehensive.)

(In this thread, for instance, the suggestions are “copy and paste,” and a script that looks like it’s written for OmniFocus 1.)

If Things can export to OPML, you can import it into OmniOutliner, save as OO, and then use

File>Import OmniOutliner document

to import all your data into OmniFocus.

If you don’t own OmniOutliner, you can download OPML2OF, an AppleScript droplet that will convert OPML into an OmniFocus document that you can then drag/drop or cut/paste into your main database.

Hope that helps!

Thanks for the quick reply! I’m bouncing back and forth between googling and staring at the SQLite structure of ThingsLibrary.db. Hmph. Thanks, though.

Looking around, I found an AppleScript that may work (I haven’t tried it), taken from the old Omni Forums. It was written for OmniFocus 1, but I don’t think much has changed in OmniFocus 2 with regard to AppleScript. If it doesn’t work, you might also try running the script first with OmniFocus 1 and importing that database into OmniFocus 2.

Good luck!

If you’re willing to go into applescript territory, it’s actually quite simple. Getting tasks out of Things is a lot easier than getting them out of Omnifocus due to the low hiearachy on Things side. Here’s a screenshot of the script editor reference for Things:

You can go over the application to lists / areas / projects which then contain a list of to-dos that you can read and stuff into OmniFocus.