OF3 and Outlook - seeking guidance

Hi all, I’m a total noob around here - I just signed up for a trial. And I’ve done some preliminary searching, but I haven’t found exactly what I’m looking for. (And most that are relevant seem to be for the previous version of OF.)

My company (large, multinational) is all-in Office365 and windows. I use a Mac - we do have a sort of BYOD policy, so I’m using O365 on all my Apple devices. It works, and it’s legit and an approved use.

Used to be, you could have your work (Outlook) calendar, mail and tasks integrated into Apple’s calendar, mail and reminders - that was nice, as I had a single view of my entire life. Now, they’re requiring everyone to use the Outlook iOS app, and so my calendar life is now 1) Outlook for work and 2) Apple for everything else (including Google and shared things).

I don’t believe our IT environment allows me to “subscribe” to my Outlook calendar on an external platform like Google or Apple.

How do I get OmniFocus to work for this? Any tricks? Looks like a fantastic app and platform, but I’m hoping this isn’t a deal-breaker.

If I follow, and I’m not sure I do, you’re trying to get OmniFocus into your calendar somehow? OmniFocus isn’t tied to a calendaring system. So OmniFocus would be just fine in the scenario you describe up until you try to send emails into your OmniFocus system. At that point, it could break some of your agreements with your company as far as where you can interact with company data.

Am I missing something?

1 Like

Thanks, @joebuhlig. Sorry if my post was confusing. More like the opposite on the calendar thing - getting my Outlook calendar to show up in OF like it does for my Apple calendar.

So, for example, Forecast becomes less than useful in my case because it wouldn’t include anything from work.