Omnifocus Fantastical Integration (Rescheduling)

Hello all,

I recently purchased both Omnifocus and Fantastical. I have been using both on and off for a while (2 years) to test which program combo I liked best. I pulled the trigger but still have many questions. I like Omnifocus for everything. I dump every idea I have here throughout the day and sort when I get a chance (enjoying a beer after the wife and kids are in bed). I am in the Army and am a servant leader to many Soldiers. I always put the needs/wants of those I am in “charge of” over my own. This requires me to reschedule constantly. Is there a way to autoupdate one program when changes are made to the other? I change times in Omnifocus, but those changes are not reflected in Fantastical; vice versa. Is it best to not enter dates/times in Omnifocus and only use Fantastical for this purpose?

1 Like

I use this combo and just keep my calendar in Fantastical synced to iCloud, and use the Forecast view in OF, which shows calendar events.

1 Like

Hi @newbelgium4,

You may need to consider the distinction between tasks and appointments. Fantastical and OmniFocus are different tools used for different purposes.

Your calendar should be used for date/time-based appointments that are part of your “hard landscape”, i.e. items that will occur and have been intentionally scheduled to happen on a specific date and time. For example a meeting with your boss or co-workers and personal things such as your next dentist appointment.

OmniFocus should be used for tasks and projects that you have to get done but which may not have a specific day/time deadline and will likely take some time to complete. Some of these tasks of course will have a deadline but many will not and will be longer term work that needs to get done.

Most OmniFocus users would also use a calendar and as @dfay mentions above, OmniFocus has a forecast view that allows you to see your calendar within the app.

1 Like