OmniGraffle use cases

Hi, I’m considering getting OmniGraffle, and I’m curious what people use it for. Right now I use Curio for organizing things, and I’m happy with that, but since Adobe Illustrator has gone to a subscription only situation, I’m looking for ways to produce vector graphics for scientific (i.e. not too complicated) illustrations. I’ve played with Inkscape a bit, and I have some concerns. I think OmniGraffle might be a good way to create simple graphics, but not so much for more complicated things. In any case, I’d love to hear what you all typically do with OmniGraffle. Thanks!

I’ve done some testing, and some reading, and (perhaps this should have been obvious) but Omnigraffle seems to be meant as an MS Visio replacement for the Mac. I’ve tried reading in a PDF that was created in Matlab, and the PDF is all messed up. I tried the same PDFs on Illustrator 5.1, and it reads in fine. I’m not a graphic designer, but rather a scientist that is looking for way to make figures for papers, so take my thoughts with this background in mind.

My conclusion: OmniGraffle is not a replacement for Illustrator, nor yet a high powered vector graphics engine. It seems a good way to make diagrams or user interface stuff, and it might be a good substitute for Visio, but it seems to have issues with PDFs. I also am guessing the lack of a response to my post indicates that no one shares my goals for vector graphics software.

I tried the same PDF in Affinity Designer and Inkscape, and it displays properly and is readily editable. Omni developers, I am glad to send you the PDF file if you want to play with it. So, for a rough test by an incompetent tester I rate, as an illustrator replacement: Affinity comes in first, Inkscape, then Omnigraffle. I expect if I wanted to make a flow chart, OmniGraffle would be my first choice.

I have no idea how OG reads in PDFs. My guess is not very well (as you noticed).