OmniPlan doc file size

Hi,
as a freelancer I keep different projects for various customers and sync my availability for resource planning via my E-Mail account, This works perfectly. But for quite some time I have noticed that the file size increases dramatically over time. As soon as I export as MS Project file and import again into OP, the file size shrinks from 15 MB to 150 kB. The friendly support ninjas at Omnigroup could not offer me a clue how this happens. Sadly, the increase in file size degrades performance especially when syncing.
Has anyone come across this strange behavior and perhaps found a way to reduces file size?
Exporting and importing does not solve the problem, as important data get lost on the way and I have to rework the plans. Oh, I have no attachments or anything, no change tracking, nothing.

Any help welcome.
Thomas

Thomas,

Thanks for your post. I wish I had a solution for you, because I have a similar problem. I am not using MS Project at all, but I had a project that was 700 or 800 kb in OmniPlan. Now in OmniPlan 2 when I add calendar subscriptions, the file kept getting larger without me adding in new tasks or significantly changing data. Eventually it was 40+ MB, and the program would crash all of the time and I could not level it. I spoke with Support on the phone [OG #1154133] , but we only got as far as recovering the program so that I could open a previous version.

I also tried to create a new file with 1 Resource, 1 Apple Calendar subscription and four 1-day tasks. The file size immediately jumped up to 4 MB.

On existing projects, trying to work backwards to reduce a file size, I removed all but 1 resource, all Subscriptions/Publications, and eventually deleted all but one task and I could not get the file smaller than 12.2 MB. Exporting all data to a .csv did not show any obvious signs of problem with my data, so it may be a chunk of the file I don’t know how to reach.