Omniplan for a freelance writer?

May I ask a group opinion? I’m a freelance writer - articles and books. I’ve been very happy with OmniOutline and OmniFocus, and want to give OmniPlan a spin.

I have a series of projects, most of which are articles and books. They frequently overlap - I typically have between 3 and 8 writing projects in motion at any given time, sometimes more, running concurrently. These are at various phases of development, from brainstorming and initial proposal, through first draft, final edits, publication, post-pub PR, etc.

Though I am the main “resource,” I do rely on other people and other resources at certain points in many projects. I’m also beginning a couple startup-type collaborations, which could involve a number of others. Right now, though, sharing and other group functions are unimportant to me.

My initial thinking, given that I have many concurrent writing projects and want to view them all together, is to create one Project and have each book or article become a task (milestone?), with subtasks for the individual steps I’ll need to complete each article or book. Does this make sense? Or should each book and article be its own Project? I know there’s some kind of dashboard for OP pro that allows one to see multiple projects, but Pro is probably above my pay grade, and almost certainly far more software than I need.

All thoughts greatly appreciated.
Tom

If you’re going to use OmniPlan, then your proposed approach is the way to start - one project, major task for each book, subtasks for the various related activities.

OmniPlan takes a while to get to grips with - adding the burden of multiple projects isn’t needed and will only distract you from the writing that’s your main focus.

Thank you, Nick. Excellent suggestion. I’ll do just as you recommend.