Organizing nested Areas of Responsibility in Omnifocus

Hi everyone,

I’ve been using OF for about half a year, and I’m loving it. However, after this experimental phase, I’m pretty sure I need to re-vamp my Folder/Projects/Contexts system. I’m looking for a bit of advice.

In my work as a manager, I have multiple teams, committees, projects, and routines. My first inclination is to put all my “Areas of Responsibility” as nested folders, and specific goal-oriented groups of tasks as projects. For example, a hierarchy such as this:

Folder: Home
Folder: Personal Development
Folder: Work
Sub-folder: Case Management team
Sub-folder: Client Liaison team
Sub-folder: Management team
Sub-folder: Ongoing Database Development
Project: New Calendar Tool
Task: Send concept to ED for review
Sub-folder: Budget
Sub-folder: Curriculum Development
Sub-folder: Health & Safety Committee
Sub-folder: Reporting
Sub-folder: Staff Development
Sub-folder: Recruiting
Sub-folder: Onboarding

However, I’ve found that any deeper than two levels of folders is too deep, and even two is hard. Things just get convoluted, complicated hard to find. The folder names get too long to see on the iPhone. Etc.

Also, If I have all of these “Areas of Responsibilities” folders, It seems like I have to have a “Single Action List” Project for every separate Area of Responsibility in each level of the hierarchy (e.g., “Work Single Action List”, "Budget Single Action List; Curriculum Single Action List, Health & Safety Single Action List, etc.) for all my actions that fall under a particular responsibility, but don’t have a project. If I just have one Single Action List project, where I dump all of my Single Action Items, then it splits up my tasks. My projects in a certain team/responsbility are under the appropriate folder whereas Single Items in the same area of responsibility are under the one Single Action List project.