Passing an argument from an external script

I’m new to Omni Automation and have been stumped by what I imagine is a ridiculously easy task, passing a script from an external app to Omnifocus with an argument.

So far, I’ve a script in Scriptable that presents recent and near future events. I can then tap on these to get a dialog if I want to create a task. And then it falls down.

My script opens Omnifocus, presents the script and the argument as I would expect, but when run it does not create an inbox item.

const script = `new Task(arg)`;
const taskText = 'Test inbox item' ; //This is usually populated from the dialog input
addInbox = new CallbackURL('omnifocus:///omnijs-run');
addInbox.addParameter('script', script);
addInbox.addParameter('arg', taskText);
addInbox.open();

When I output the callback URL, it looks like I would expect. But I can’t get it to work. If I populate the new Task(input) with a ‘string’ and omit the ‘arg’ parameter a task is created. So the problem appears to be that I lack the knowledge to get Omnifocus to use the argument.

I’ve tried various things I’ve found online, making the inputs strings, encoding them, etc. I’ve also tried various permutations of argument name. And even the odd thing on The Omni Automation website about parentheses. Nothing seems to make a difference.

I’m keen to use a script rather than the URL scheme, partly because I want to learn it, but also because I’d like to do other things that are more complex than just an inbox item.

Can anyone point out, as brutally as they like, the stupid thing I’m missing?

I have not run anything from Scriptable, so this could be different. If you use Shortcuts, you can pass in data with “arguement.input”.

If you want an example, let me know and I can give you one later.

1 Like

Thanks. I’m very keen to do it in Scriptable though, to learn my way around that and JavaScript a bit more.