Proper forecasting features

I’m new to Omnifocus and just started recently using it on my iPad. It’s the most expensive iPad app I’ve ever purchased, yet I find it doesn’t live up to its promise of being a truly powerful task manager. Here’s why (perhaps some issues are due to my lack of experience with the software, so if that’s the case, please forgive me):

• Forecast view: I would expect to be able to customise this view in the way one can with other perspectives. My main concern is that I would want to be able to use the “Estimated duration” and “Due” fields of items combined in order to have the forecast not only show me tasks due today, but those in the future if they require a long duration (e.g. if I have a task due in 3 days and it’s estimated duration is 3 days work, I would like to see it today in the forecast view as needing work on it today) - Hope what I’m saying is clear

• Flags: It would be great to have a variety of flags we could customise for different meanings

• Importance & field: It would be good to have an “importance” field for items, in order to then be able to customise a perspective to show “Important & urgent” items, based on this field and item due dates (the idea her is to have a kind of Eisenhower matrix for your tasks)

• Action items: I find this function rather cumbersome. Why not simply have a button to create a “sub-project” when viewing a project? Furthermore, if I create an item and what to assign it to a sub-project, it’s not straightforward (the “sub-projects” don’t appear in the list for the “Project” field)

I’m sure I could script many of these features if I had the Mac version of the software, but I’m afraid I’m using a PC and an iPad, so that’s not an option.

Once again, I may have missed some things being a newbie, so don’t be to harsh with your feedback.

Hey @wmsgva! Thanks for using OmniFocus. We really appreciate your feedback - a lot of the features you’re asking about seem quite powerful!