Revising my Omnifocus structure - Advice Welcomed

Hi All,

I’m looking for some advice on revising my Omnifocus setup based on the advice given in this forum and from around the web.

Background

I’m using Omnifocus for both personal and work projects or tasks. My personal structure will generally be minor, mostly filled with routine tasks and then an occasional project. My work structure will be more complex made up of a combination of routine tasks, single or parallel action projects, and will require the ability to capture possible future ideas.

I work in Construction in a divisional managerial position with input into various long term contracts so I’m also trying to accommodate projects/tasks which could apply to individual or multiple contracts, or projects/tasks at a divisional level which do not relate to a specific contract, and the management of a team. Furthermore with some tasks I will need to consider liaising with a colleague/s or waiting for input from them.

Current setup

As a quick overview I am mainly using nested folders sometimes 4-5 levels deep with little use of contexts. I’m finding various issues with this setup, but mainly trouble managing projects/tasks multiple levels deep and also accommodating when a project/task applies to multiple contracts.

Proposed setup

Folder/Project Structure

• Home [Folder]

• Routines [Single Action Project]
    • Holidays [Single Action Project]
    • Finances [Single Action Project]
    • Misc [Single Action Project]
  • Personal Development [Folder]

• Misc [Single Action Project]
    • Example Project 1 [Single Action Project]
  • Work [Folder]

• General [Single Action Project]
    • Management [Folder]
      • Budget Reviews [Single Action Project - Reoccurring Tasks]
      • Team [Single Action Project – Some Reoccurring Tasks]
      • General Strategy/Roadmap [Single Action Project] (mainly for "someday/maybe" context ideas which will be escalated into a Project later)