Seeking Advice: Visualizing Estimated Time Duration in Omnifocus 4

Hey Omnifocus enthusiasts!

I’m new to Omnifocus but I’ve been using it for a few weeks now, and one thing that I’ve been pondering is how to effectively visualize the “estimated time duration” values for tasks and projects. I find that having a visual representation of the time estimates could greatly enhance my planning and scheduling process. Currently when i look at a list of Task, for example in the forcast view, i can’t visualy differenciate if I expected them to take one hour or twenty. Beeing able to visualize how much i put on my plate would realy help me to not feel overwhelmed and also be and feel productive.

Does anyone have any tips, tricks, addons or different ways they handle this issue? Whether it’s a custom perspective, script, or a different kind of planing / looking at tasks, I’m open to exploring different options.

I understand that Omnifocus primarily focuses on task management, but I believe visualizing time estimates could help me allocate my time more efficiently and make better-informed decisions about my workload.

Looking forward to hearing about your experiences and solutions! Thanks in advance for any insights you can share.

Happy organizing! 🚀

1 Like

Great observation, @balu. I don’t use the estimated time duration field too often, but do find value in it sometimes. Two ways I’ve tried to “visualize” it are:

1. to keep the Inspector sidebar open, and have the field towards the top of the sidebar, and
  2. to also include the estimated time (manually) in the name of the task: example - “Walk the dog (30 min)”

Hope that helps!

On my iPad or my Mac, I have OF4 on one side and Fantastical in Day view or Week view. I can drag and drop a task from OF4 to a time slot in Fantastical.

Fantastical will recognize the estimated duration from OF4 and adjust the new event’s duration to match.

Apple Calendar will ignore the estimated duration field.